The W8 forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Members > USA - East
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Ken's Car
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

 Shoutbox  Your message
You must log in to shout!

Forum LockedKen's Car

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 18>
Poll Question: Is the Car Worth the Money?
Poll Choice Votes Poll Statistics
10 [90,91%]
0 [0,00%]
1 [9,09%]
This topic is closed, no new votes accepted

Author
Message
Superman View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 10-Oct-2013
Location: LA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 910
  Quote Superman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ken's Car
    Posted: 28-Apr-2014 at 20:13
I don't think you'll notice much of a change and the speedometer doesn't have to be recalibrated.
Back to Top
dmcdmc View Drop Down
Super Poster
Super Poster
Avatar

Joined: 03-Oct-2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 635
  Quote dmcdmc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-Apr-2014 at 13:17
Regards tyres as long as you replace both on the same axle you should be fine...no need to replace all 4
Back to Top
srdavis872 View Drop Down
Super Poster
Super Poster
Avatar

Joined: 25-Jan-2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 608
  Quote srdavis872 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-Apr-2014 at 16:18
You can't adjust the speedometer on VWs. But, with stock tires, the speedometer reads about 5mph over what you're actually doing. Going a slightly larger size will actually make it more accurate than it is stock.

I know this because every stock VW I've been in the speedo is off, as was mine, until I upped the tire size when going to 19s. Now it's pretty much spot on.
Back to Top
KenBIII View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 06-Mar-2014
Location: RI, USA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 397
  Quote KenBIII Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-Apr-2014 at 16:24
Thats good to know. I'm surprised that VW doesn't allow the spedos to be adjusted. Thats probably why they have the spedo over to account for people using larger wheels.
03 W8 AT "Sport" Variant
Back to Top
srdavis872 View Drop Down
Super Poster
Super Poster
Avatar

Joined: 25-Jan-2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 608
  Quote srdavis872 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-Apr-2014 at 18:08
Originally posted by KenBIII

Thats good to know. I'm surprised that VW doesn't allow the spedos to be adjusted. Thats probably why they have the spedo over to account for people using larger wheels.


More so because it ensures that if people get pulled over for speeding they can't blame it on the speedometer. You have to assume some degree of inaccuracy, so pretty much all manufactures error to the side of the speedo reading higher than actual. Save their butts for getting sued for having them inaccurate the other way.
Back to Top
KenBIII View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 06-Mar-2014
Location: RI, USA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 397
  Quote KenBIII Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Apr-2014 at 03:48
Here are some pics at of my new Hella Extreme Yellow Lights, just for off-road use of course
These pictures don't do the lights justice...

Fog Lights
                      Just HID Low-Beam (DRL)                                           HID Low-Beam + Fog Lights (1st Pull)



Halogen High-Beams

                     Just HID High-Beam (2nd Pull)                                  HID + Halogen High-Beam (No/1st/2nd Pull)


Sorry for the huge picture sizes.

Edited by KenBIII - 30-Apr-2014 at 04:16
03 W8 AT "Sport" Variant
Back to Top
logan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 03-Dec-2011
Location: oregon
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 251
  Quote logan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Apr-2014 at 05:55
why is it that mine dont look like that .. i did the same bulbs in my fog lights .. mine must need ot be adjusted upwards .. they only lite up the first 5 - 6 feet infront of my car
poop
Back to Top
KenBIII View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 06-Mar-2014
Location: RI, USA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 397
  Quote KenBIII Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Apr-2014 at 14:44
Here is a picture of my fogs from the outside. I was actually planning on adjusting mine up as well as they do not illuminate far enough for me either. I would say I have like an 8 feet max of light. You can see the the arc of my fog lights and then the beam from the projectors.

03 W8 AT "Sport" Variant
Back to Top
logan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 03-Dec-2011
Location: oregon
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 251
  Quote logan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Apr-2014 at 22:40
i also have 55w bulbs in here and i know i need ot "adjust/ modify" the wiring harness :) as it has melted the connector at the light
poop
Back to Top
KenBIII View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 06-Mar-2014
Location: RI, USA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 397
  Quote KenBIII Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Apr-2014 at 22:51
Mine are also 55w bulbs, my car came with H3 fogs and H7 high-beams
03 W8 AT "Sport" Variant
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 18>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0,082 seconds.